Detoxing with wholefoods

Good evening!

A couple of days ago a friend of mine told me that she had started incorporating a lot more vegetables into her diet. As we all know, vegetables are healthy, so I am very happy for her. It makes me even happier considering that she has been picky with food her whole life. However, she made a comment that caught my interest me, and I instantly thought I would discuss it a bit with you. She was frustrated that her skin had gotten worse since she started eating more wholefoods, and said: “I thought eating fruit and vegetables would make my skin nicer and clearer, not make it worse..?!” This leads me on to today´s topic:

4 signs of detoxification

  • Bloating
  • Cravings
  • Headache
  • Skin breakouts

A diet based on a lot of meat, white bread and white pasta contains very little dietary fibre, while fruit and veggies contain a lot of it. When you introduce a bigger amount of this to your meals, you are likely to become bloated and gassy. You are simply just making your digestion work with more fibre than it is used to. Just stick with it and know that it is happening. It will usually be over after around a week.

If I have had a binge or gone to an event where I have eaten something that is a bit more sugary and unhealthy than what I would normally eat, I get big cravings later. This is natural, because sugar gives you energy. However, it is energy rich in calories and lacking in nutrients. Your body might think it is good, but shortly after having it your blood sugar will be all over the place. In an attempt to recover, stabilise the blood sugar and gain more energy again your body is likely to crave more sugar. The same goes for fats. Fatty food is often what leaves me feeling satisfied, which makes me crave that feeling of satisfaction again. I usually go for fruit instead of sweets and porridge or nuts instead of unhealthy fatty food, or simply just a cup of tea to satisfy the need of having some kind of flavour in the mouth. I sometimes just go at brush my teeth instead. Lastly, notice if you are craving because you are just hungry, and if you are then make sure to have a healthy and filling meal instead of snacks.

As the detoxification continues most people experience headaches. It is very uncomfortable, but quite normal. Your body is no longer getting what it is used to, while you are also forcing it to work with unfamiliar ingredients. It is the same for coffee drinkers when they do not get their coffee, smokers when they stop smoking and snackers when they can not have their usual amount of sugar and processed food. I have found drinking more water helps, and making sure to get enough sleep. If it is to bad, you could have a pain-killer, but it should not really be necessary.

Lastly, on to my friend´s problem: skin breakouts. After I went vegan a lot of people I know have said that my skin looks so much clearer and healthier. However, I went through a period of breakouts myself. When you start eating more whole and natural food your body will try to get rid of toxins, and this usually happens through the skin, as it is the biggest organ we have. This also lasts for about a week. It feels awful, but it means you are aiding your body in cleaning itself from the inside and out.

Detoxing your body might not feel as good when you are in the actual process, but I promise you it will make a difference when you are done with that first period. I have been told I am glowing, that my eyes are clear, skin looks healthy and hair looks fresh. All these things thanks to a better diet. If you want to aid your body in detoxing, generally go for more fruit and vegetables as well as water, but food high in vitamin c, beta-carotene (vitamin A) and antioxidants is recommended.

  • Beetroot
  • Citrus fruits
  • Carrot
  • Sweet potato
  • Pumpkin
  • Butternut squash
  • Forest berries
  • Goji berries
  • Spirulina
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Pineapple
  • Papaya
  • Peppers

I hope this helps. There are more signs of detoxification, but these are the four major ones I experience the most when my body is detoxing. Just stick with it, and it will be over before you know it.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Do you normally experience other things?

Kennet x

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

